Dignity and Self Harm #WMHD

Dignity and Self Harm Ten things I want you to know

Remember I am a person first of all with hopes and dreams and I’m just suffering right now and you may have seen me last week but my pain comes back to haunt me.

I’m not attention seeking or being manipulative when I self harm I’ve suffered in my past and I’m coming asking you for help I’m seeking attention yes because I’ve hurt myself and I need medical attention.

Please remember to dress my self harm even if I have overdosed often you forget because I’m not well enough to point it out.

If I have overdosed I would like a bed to lie in not forced to sit in a chair .

Please remember to validate my emotions I’m feeling so sad often ashamed and I often feel suicidal. Yes it is awful yes I’ve been trying so hard and I feel so vulnerable, just tell me you can see that.

Remember to use pain relief for people who need it don’t carry out procedures without it.

Please refer me to liaison psychiatry don’t just let me leave, people who self harm can go on to complete suicide they need help .

It would be amazing if all hospitals had people trained to help people who self harm 24/7 as liaison psychiatry doesn’t often operate those hours. Instead people are left to wait until morning tired and in crisis .

You don’t have to tell me if I leave you will call the police I’m not a criminal and I’m not that person who runs away we are all individuals .

Thank you to all the people who have shown me dignity on my journey over the years I haven’t seen you for a long time as I am well but if you do just please show me some dignity .

About bpdffs

I campaign for better services for people with BPD. I run #BPDchat onTwitter on Sundays at 9pm BST, please join us. I train CMHT staff in BPD awareness and run psycho-educational courses for people with BPD. I am a governor at Sheffield Health and Social Care Trust.

5 responses to “Dignity and Self Harm #WMHD”

  1. twittleyjules says :

    Such effective words as ever. Love you xxx

  2. Dithreabhach says :

    I spent over 7 hours in a&e on Sunday night after self-harming (something I only started doing a few weeks ago, though I fo have bipolar 2/ocd etc). Eventually MH Crisis Team spoke to me – over the phone! They were next to useless,. Basically, be a good chap and go home and ring this number if you feel worse!

Leave a Reply

