Mental Health and the Meaning of Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day has always been difficult for me my mum has schizophrenia and wasn’t around much when we were small. I do remember moments her washing clothes, dancing in the room and being in hospital sectioned catatonic lonely sad. I’m trying to remember one Mother’s Day when she was my mum there is one time I remember from the corner of my mind when we made you a cup of tea and toast or am I just imagining did I just want the one perfect Mother’s Day I could remember fondly a fantasy? I wanted a mum.

I’m wondering how much pain is felt on this day? Is it celebrated by many or is it a time for sadness of people remembering loved ones, of visiting places where they can remember, lay flowers and shed a tear. Mourn …

Or are we celebrating their lives remembering good times of love, those hugs and moments.. Oh the things we did together … Oh I cry … This wasn’t for me.

But now I have two daughters and I am here and they’re coming to celebrate Mothers Day bringing gifts and we will eat out …. and when they were small they made me breakfast in bed and I smile … I feel happy.. my life … They will remember a time in the future of celebrating Mothers Day of me being there for them oh that’s something I treasure in my heart.

I’m thinking of people on Mothers Day as it can be hard I will be hugging my girls and thinking of my mum.

About bpdffs

I campaign for better services for people with BPD. I run #BPDchat onTwitter on Sundays at 9pm BST, please join us. I train CMHT staff in BPD awareness and run psycho-educational courses for people with BPD. I am a governor at Sheffield Health and Social Care Trust.

2 responses to “Mental Health and the Meaning of Mother’s Day”

  1. twittleyjules says :

    What is there to say? How can we validate her? I think she did her best and I think we were loved. But it’s not always enough. Maybe we have to find our own ways of making something of this day. Something that can make sense to us. Not easy. You are a wonderful mum so something good has come of this xx

    • bpdffs says :

      All I can do is love my daughters and that is worth everything I think I’m coming to terms with my childhood therapy helps I’m not sure about love …

Leave a Reply

