TW Suicide is SERIOUS

This is going to be my shortest post to date ….it’s a simple message.

Recently I got severe chest pains and had to call an ambulance, it arrived really quickly and when they arrived the pain was subsiding. I told them that the pain was a bit less now and they said ‘ but you’re better off calling it’s good to be checked out, chest pain is really serious.’ On reaching hospital the same message was given to me ‘yes Sue it’s good you called ‘ and I was treated swiftly and kindly.

When I have had to call an ambulance and gone to hospital after overdosing I have never been told ‘it’s good you called ‘ and that I should get my overdose and suicidal thoughts checked out. I have on occasion been treated kindly but often left not spoken to left to sit on a chair oh and one time I fell off. I was left to feel like I was a burden another time being told ‘this bed is needed for an ill person,’ perhaps one with chest pains?

I am waiting for the day when hospital and ambulance staff tell me ‘it’s good you called suicidal thoughts are really serious’ and I’m always treated kindly and swiftly .

Parity of esteem physical and mental health it’s not happening culturally or financially…
That is sad.

Tags: , ,

About bpdffs

I campaign for better services for people with BPD. I run #BPDchat onTwitter on Sundays at 9pm BST, please join us. I train CMHT staff in BPD awareness and run psycho-educational courses for people with BPD. I am a governor at Sheffield Health and Social Care Trust.

11 responses to “TW Suicide is SERIOUS”

  1. lensgirl53 says :

    What a shame. This is disturbing but really speaks volumes of the ignorance in even the professional realm. Our society has so much to learn…and so little time. I am glad you were not having a heart attack.

    • bpdffs says :

      Thank you I’m glad I wasn’t having a heart attack too … But it is really sad that people who are suicidal are not taken seriously things need to change …

  2. Carl says :

    totally agree, I think people with mental health difficulties in general are not taking seriously, but those who self harm or are suicidal seem to particularly be seen as a burden of some kind and why don’t they just “snap out of it” is a regular thought pattern of some so called professionals. Compassion seems to be in short supply. I think education is the key, if they would only listen to a few people like you and try to understand, I think things would improve – or at least I would hope it would.

    • bpdffs says :

      I totally agree education is so key, people just need to understand, people are emotionally overwhelmed they need support, kind words and being listened to.

  3. bethcanreflect says :

    Brilliant blog- so true and such a good example of how discrimination plays out. Beth

  4. Somebody says :

    I’ve had to sit in a meeting room for in excess of 4 hours, because I overdosed and didn’t have a ”physical problem”. I’ve been quite lucky to have ambulances reach fairly quickly when I have had to go into hospital following overdoses, some of the paramedics have been absolutely amazing, but at the same time, I have had some interrogate me, by that I mean really go for it. Even when I have shrugged and said I don’t really want to talk about it, I have been pestered.
    When you are in hospital with a physical ailment, I wouldn’t know, but assume, that you won’t be referred to as ‘the sectioned’, and disregarded. I walked out of a ward once, because no one spoke to me, anything that was said was either said to my mum or the security guard looking after me, just because I was being treated for an overdose I became invisible (I was 17 and on an adult ward).
    There are so many areas in which mental health issues hold insignificance and a lot of stigma in comparison to physical health, it’s just not fair.

    Sorry I rambled a bit

    • bpdffs says :

      You didn’t ramble I think emergency departments need more training in how to help people in MH crisis you sounded like you had a bad experience too.

  5. elliewildbore says :

    If its any consolation – I have been to hospital in sheffield several times in the past couple of months for overdosing and I don’t remember most of them because of what I took but on the last one I was lucid the whole time and not only was I remembered and recognised by both the ambulance and hospital staff, I was treated fairly, in an understanding way and received so much support from the staff which really made a difference. Having said that I have received rude ‘care’ from the same hospital…but it makes it nice to think that there are people that do genuinely care about suicidal people too!

Leave a Reply

