Understanding Personality Disorder

Understanding Personality Disorder 

Click on the link above to see the leaflet which  I wrote for people with Borderline Personality Disorder as part of my work for Sheffield Health & Social Care Foundation Trust.

When I got diagnosed with BPD, there was no information or help so this leaflet is for those who are newly diagnosed and for those who work with with people with BPD. I hope it helps.

Tags: , , ,

About bpdffs

I campaign for better services for people with BPD. I run #BPDchat onTwitter on Sundays at 9pm BST, please join us. I train CMHT staff in BPD awareness and run psycho-educational courses for people with BPD. I am a governor at Sheffield Health and Social Care Trust.

11 responses to “Understanding Personality Disorder”

  1. Julie Newcombe (@TwittleyJules) says :

    That is so good! I think a lot of of this can be useful in other areas of mental illness too. More power to the service users!

  2. xina08 says :

    Hello. In the pdf, you mention the youtube video of Marsha Linehan’s “Back from the edge” as “Back TO the edge”.

    Just thought you might like to correct that!

    • bpdffs says :

      Oops thanks for that it still comes up under either name on a google search so that’s good but will change it thanks for being eagle eyed : ) I hope you found it useful.

  3. Joyce says :

    So much helpful information in just a few pages!

  4. bpdffs says :

    I’m glad it helps Joyce and a little vanilla : )

  5. Chrissy Bonham says :

    I really found your leaflet helpful Sue and think it will help inform a lot of people, especially those who may have just had their diagnosis and are sat thinking ‘what the hell happens now’. I have shown it to my family to try and help them understand why I act the way I do, half the battle is helping ones close to you understand I think.
    Thank you for all the work you do! It does help and is very much appreciated.
    Have a nice Christmas!
    Chrissy xxx

    • bpdffs says :

      Thank you very much Chrissy, you know I wrote this leaflet as when I got diagnosed there was nothing and I felt people may benefit from some guidance. You’re right also it’s good to help others understand .
      You have a good Christmas too
      Sue x

  6. elliewildbore says :

    I was diagnosed with BPD a couple of weeks ago and I was given your leaflet on BPD by several difference sources within SHSCT so you’ll be pleased to know it is being used and respected by the professionals. I found it extremely helpful and really explained BPD in layman’s terms and was particularly helpful to give to my family so they understood more, so thank you for making it – much appreciated!

    • bpdffs says :

      I’m glad you found it useful one of my reasons for writing it was because when I was diagnosed thee wasn’t anything for me to read so I wanted to help others . I am also very glad it’s being handed out. Thank you for your comment : )

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Becalmed – A little vanilla - December 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

