Twitter, Person

Singing from the same hymn sheet

Watching recent discussions on Twitter compelled me to write this post. I’m not a political writer, I like to keep up with politics, well I did an A level in it, that’s just proving my credentials, which I always feel necessary to do before I go on.
Point One
The reason for this post is because I smell fear on Twitter, I see people rushing around trying to grab at straws, positioning themselves, grabbing at invisible power. I’m wondering if we know that Twitters not real you know, its a playground where we all debate, it’s not really real. We can talk to the influencers but they don’t reply to us, they mainly talk to each other, the Twitter top dogs. They influence each other, when it’s the people in receipt of services , like housing, health, social care that need fighting for. But no you need to fight with us not for us. Talk to us. Please. Not at us. Oh that’s not always the case you know who you are.
Point Two
I see people creating, beautiful ideas via social care podcast, blogs, exchanging of ideas, twitter is a melting pot of creativity , but to translate this into action is the question. Talk talk talk we now need to do do do.
Point Three
Back to the politics.
I studied Nazi Germany in Politics I was fascinated by Hitler his method of ruling by divide and rule,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divide_and_rule.

I now see this repeating itself , this method of rule, this government has created so much fear ATOS humiliating good people, they fear that envelope appearing, I couldn’t attend my meeting I overdosed before it, I couldn’t face the humiliation. Stigma.
Then there is the welfare reform act http://www.dwp.gov.uk/policy/welfare-reform/legislation-and-key-documents/welfare-reform-act-2012/
People are now all ‘Benefit scum’.
We have people  putting up petitions not one but two running scared fighting hard, we won’t give in. http://wowpetition.com/ http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/20968
NO WE WON’T GIVE IN.
We feel stigmatised, and now talk of people being told what they can buy at the shops, because people all spend their money on booze and fags, don’t you know? It reminds me of the old school dinners, in the queue with your name ticked off, people knowing you had no money. Scum.
All of this designed to create fear, no money, people scrabbling around, it creates the conditions for divide and rule, so that people take their eye off the ball and start to blame and fight one another.
Point four
I now notice people fighting each other, running scared divide and rule , I noticed another Mental Health charity exposing another WHY? Why fight each other?
What needs to happen is pulling together in one common cause, fight this government not each other, because at this minute it’s winning its dividing and ruling.
By privatizing the NHS this government has literally set third sector up against the NHS and soon to be private companies. How very very clever, all fighting for funding, for existence for a voice. bit whose voice is it? REMEMBER ITS THE PEOPLE IN RECEIPT OF SERVICES, LIKE HOUSING, HEALTH , SOCIAL CARE THAT NEED TO BE INVOLVED SO THE FIGHT CAN BE FOR WHAT THEY NEED NOT WHAT THE POWERS THAT BE THINK THAT THEY NEED. FIGHT WITH ME NOT FOR ME.
Point Five
It’s the last chance saloon, get together now or never, fight your own corner and get cornered or work together.
I smell fear on Twitter but I see hope blossoming from all corners.
We just need to fight together, charities, users of services , workers , whoever together.
One petition, one common aim, charities working together with the NHS , pooling scarce resources.
Fight this government and create the services that people need.
Stop fighting each other.
Or Mr Cameron will be pleased.
Divide and rule.

Tags:

About bpdffs

I campaign for better services for people with BPD. I run #BPDchat onTwitter on Sundays at 9pm BST, please join us. I train CMHT staff in BPD awareness and run psycho-educational courses for people with BPD. I am a governor at Sheffield Health and Social Care Trust.

3 responses to “Twitter, Person”

  1. Jon Beech says :

    Great post. By way of provocation I offer the following thoughts, off the top of my head

    1. Our greatest power is the power of attraction, and our ability to ignore. Cease using social media as a kind of hourly updated Guardian/Grazia to find out the latest inane comment of politicians or comedians. Turn off the tap that keeps their egos watered. Take the conversations elsewhere. They will follow. Let’s not beg them to listen. Let’s make ourselves impossible to ignore.

    2. Let’s learn from our leaders, for whom busyness is often a substitute for thought and understanding. You’re right, you’re never going to bring down the govt with a snarky comment or a furious RT. But let’s see Twitter and other SocMed as a place of generating real understanding. This means more than the pantomime boo and hiss we give to the Daily Mail and crass slebs. An attempt to do big, difficult ideas, subtlety and nuance rather than always saying we’re short of space or time, or the medium is wrong. It’s not. It’s merely that we’re not used to using it this way. Think of RSA Animates series and then say big ideas don’t belong in social media.

    3. Rule by fear. Our best hope is not to counter fear by gathering in ever larger tribes who believe and think the same way. Stop thinking you are always right. Stop calling the opposition names. When you speak, think how you’ll change a mind, not just parroting the orthodoxies and slogans of your chosen team. The opposing side usually know these already, and have already rejected them. Yes there’s a place for solidarity, communities of experience, a place to tend one another’s wounds. But widen your circle of online friends. Don’t just unfollow alternate points of view that annoy you. Engage. Really engage. Give them their arguments back in their own language to show you understand them, before challenging then. Be the change you want to see. Division thrives in separatist communities.

    4. Our diversity is our strength. Divided we stand. A philosophical and ethical monoculture is a weakness not a strength. Our ability to criticise our mates is important. We can do this sensitively and supportively. Papering over the cracks to form weak coalitions is craven and disingenuous. Tactical alliances announce we want to play and win the political game the same way as the people in charge. Do we? Really? Putting ordinary (any group of) people in charge means conflict. We don’t all want the same thing. There is no widely held consensus about health and social care and what good looks like. Users carers and staff won’t all agree of they try hard enough. We should accept this and learn to harness our differences as a creative energy, not a weakness to be overcome. Show those who would demonize and degrade us that our difference, our otherness, is what allows us to achieve so much.

    5. I’m not sure I want to fight for the services which allowed Cornwall or Mid Staffs or Winterbourne to happen. I’m not sad Remploy has gone (although I’m sad for every person who’s lost a job that gave them an income, a purpose and enjoyment.) I know people who worked at Remploy and some of the stories they told were not things we’d want to brag about. I want people to find dignity and support in their daily lives, which mean they don’t need to rely on institutions. Where they have decent housing and an income that allows them to waste or make the most of their lives. More to the point, our public services are every bit as Machiavellian as their political masters. I’ll encourage the voluntary sector to join in and pool resources once health and social care have reached a point of peace and common purpose. Until then, we’ll just experience new ways to be coopted and played off against one another.

    Old school leftist approaches to fighting vested interest will get us into old school leftist difficulties. We should embrace the multitude, not seek a bogus unity (whilst denying that we’re holding our noses).

    I’m on your side, I think. But don’t let desperation and fear that they will win get the better of you. I value your difference, that’s what makes us friends. And that is why we’re there for one another.

    • bpdffs says :

      Thanks for responding to my post, it is a wonderful piece of writing in itself, and I’m pleased its attached to my blog. For me I’m too busy locally working in Sheffield to pay too much heed to Twitter, my real life work for people with PD is far more important. I think the main point for me is that people are fighting each other, not in a way that is positive, but to further their cause. I see possibilities of partnerships, of people stopping replicating services or not looking at more possibilities. Maybe intent on building or just saving their empires, losing focus of what really matters. It’s about linking up people, ideas and resources. A case in point at the minute, for me is that I’ve found money for Rethink to help promote their Healthchecks for people with serious MI in Sheffield. Linking people, so they can work together, to help people who use services. I know it’s a small thing but I’m trying.
      I love when you write ‘ learn to harness our differences as a creative energy not a weakness to be overcome’ I think that is so true, and channelling it to create outcomes. Make things happen.
      I think I am on your side, but if I’m not that’s OK, I can still be your friend, I only unfollowed one person on here he was asking for photos of young girls.
      Thank you for your comment.

  2. twittleyjules says :

    No more talk talk talk just do do do. That’s the essence of it. It’s easy to have a meeting and make a plan, but much harder to carry out that plan. Everyone does it..governments, social care, tweeters. In the end, it is individuals who make the difference, but we shouldn’t have to rely on individuals. We should have systems that work and we should be able to take pride in them.

Leave a Reply

